LIMITS 2022

Eighth Workshop on Computing within Limits
June 21-22 2022

About LIMITS 2022

The LIMITS workshop concerns the role of computing in human societies affected by real-world limits*. As an interdisciplinary group of researchers, practitioners, and scholars, we seek to reshape the computing research agenda, grounded by an awareness that contemporary computing research is intertwined with ecological limits in general and climate- and climate justice-related limits in particular. LIMITS 2022 solicits submissions that move us closer towards computing systems that support diverse human and non-human lifeforms within thriving biospheres.

* For example, limits of extractive logics, limits to a biosphere's ability to recover, limits to our knowledge, or limits to technological "solutions".



Call For Papers

We welcome scholarship by researchers, engineers, designers, and artists who are (re)designing computing systems that engage pressing ecological issues. Building on provocations from earlier LIMITS gatherings, we encourage papers that describe transitional systems. Transitional systems attempt to (re)design, implement, and/or evaluate a real-world or hypothetical socio-technical computing system in response to "implications for design" raised by earlier LIMITS papers or LIMITS-related scholarship in the areas of computing and sustainability, computing and climate-justice).

All papers should explicitly state how the work supports LIMITS-aligned goals. We also encourage authors to consider the stories they tell and reify through their work. As Constanza-Chock reminds us, "Stories have power". They ask us to consider, "(...) what stories are told about design problems, solutions, contexts, and outcomes? Who gets to tell these stories? Who participates, who benefits, and who is harmed?" (p. 134)

References

Sasha Constanza-Chock. 2020. Design Justice: Community-led practices to build the worlds we need. MIT Press.

Key Dates

Abstract registration deadline: March 18, 2022, 11:59pm AOE
Paper submission deadline: April 1, 2022, 11:59pm AOE
Paper reviews available: April 29, 2022
Camera ready deadline: May 20, 2022
LIMITS Workshop: June 21-22, 2022

In 2022, LIMITS will be a virtual, distributed workshop. We welcome participants to organize local gatherings or "LIMITS-hubs" that encourage community-building and sharing of infrastructure.

Submissions

Register and submit papers at this site. (If you have any issues with the submission site, please email barathra@usc.edu.)

Papers should adhere to the following guidelines:

  • Papers should be in ACM double-column format, using the most recent template, but without ACM copyright information.
  • The main body text should use 9pt font.
  • The body of the paper should be a minimum of 5 pages and a maximum of 10 pages, with an unlimited number of pages allowed for references.

Reviewing will be non-blind; authors should include their names and contact information and reviews will include reviewer names.

All papers will be made freely available on the workshop website. Copyright will remain with the authors.

Organizers

Program Committee

Oliver Bates, Lancaster University, o.bates@lancaster.ac.uk
Christoph Becker, University of Toronto, christoph.becker@utoronto.ca
Roy Bendor, Delft University of Technology, r.bendor@tudelft.nl
Eli Blevis, Indiana University, eblevis@indiana.edu
Alan Borning, University of Washington, borning@cs.washington.edu
Jay Chen, ICSI, jchen@icsi.berkeley.edu
Elina Eriksson, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, elina@kth.se (co-chair)
Lisa Nathan, University of British Columbia, lisa.nathan@ubc.ca (co-chair)
Vineet Pandey, Harvard University, vineet@seas.harvard.edu
Teresa Cerratto Pargman, Stockholm University, tessy@dsv.su.se
Daniel Pargman, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, pargman@kth.se
Birgit Penzenstadler, University of Gothenburg, Chalmers, birgitp@chalmers.se
George Porter, UC San Diego, gmporter@cs.ucsd.edu
Barath Raghavan, USC, barath.raghavan@usc.edu (steering committee)
Miriam Börjesson Rivera, Uppsala University, miriam.borjesson.rivera@it.uu.se
Douglas Schuler, Evergreen State College, douglas@publicsphereproject.org