LIMITS 2020

Sixth Workshop on Computing within Limits
Distributed Workshop: USC, Los Angeles & University of Bristol, UK

About LIMITS 2020

The LIMITS workshop aims to foster discussion on the impact of present and future ecological, material, energetic, and societal limits on computing. These topics are seldom discussed in contemporary computing research. A key aim of the workshop is to promote innovative, concrete research, potentially of an interdisciplinary nature, that focuses on technologies, critiques, techniques, and contexts for computing within fundamental economic and ecological limits. A longer-term goal is to build a community around relevant topics and research. We hope to impact society through the design and development of computing systems in the abundant present for use in a future of limits. This year LIMITS will be a distributed workshop between USC, Los Angeles and University of Bristol, UK. LIMITS in the UK will be co-located with ICT4S in Bristol, UK.

Organizers

Program Committee

Oliver Bates, Lancaster University, o.bates@lancaster.ac.uk (co-chair)
Eli Blevis, Indiana University, eblevis@indiana.edu
Jay Chen, New York University - Abu Dhabi, jchen@cs.nyu.edu
Elina Eriksson, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, elina@kth.se
Kurtis Heimerl, University of Washington, kheimerl@cs.washington.edu
Lara Houston, Goldsmiths, University of London, lara@larahouston.co.uk
Ann Light, University of Sussex, ann.light@sussex.ac.uk
Samuel Mann, Otago Polytechnic, samuel.mann@op.ac.nz
Bonnie Nardi, University of California - Irvine, nardi@ics.uci.edu
Lisa Nathan, University of British Columbia, lisa.nathan@ubc.ca
Teresa Cerratto Pargman, Stockholm University, tessy@dsv.su.se
Birgit Penzenstadler, California State University - Long Beach, bpenzens@gmail.com
Barath Raghavan, USC, barath.raghavan@usc.edu (co-chair)
Christian Remy, Aarhus University, jc.remy@gmail.com
Douglas Schuler, Evergreen State College, douglas@publicsphereproject.org
Bill Tomlinson, University of California - Irvine, wmt@ics.uci.edu

Steering Committee

Bonnie Nardi, UC Irvine
Barath Raghavan, USC
Karla Carter (ACM SIGCAS chair), Bellevue University



Call For Papers

LIMITS aims to foster research on the impact of present or future ecological, material, energetic, and/or societal limits on computing and computing research to respond to such limits. The medium-term aim of the workshop is to foster research, potentially of an interdisciplinary nature, that innovates on technologies, techniques, and contexts for computing within fundamental limits. A longer-term goal is to build a community around relevant topics and research. A goal of this community is to impact society through the design and development of computing systems in the abundant present for use in a future of limits and/or scarcity. A recent article in the Communications of the ACM provides a good primer on Computing within Limits.

We envision two broad categories of papers: "discussion papers" and "systems papers" (see below). Submissions do not need to strictly fit into either category. All papers should succinctly frame the limits that are of interest to the author(s).

Discussion papers explore the nature of limits and computing. Good discussion contributions will detail the nature of the limits of interest, describe their impact on computing, and present directions for future research. Relevant topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Sustainability and computing
  • Re-evaluation of conventional computing premises (e.g. Moore's law)
  • Discussion of new limits and their implications for computing
  • Analysis of unnecessary computing or greenwashing in computing
  • Ecological economics and/or biophysical economics and computing
  • Engaging in more wholes systems approaches, e.g. implications to: health, education, agriculture, transportation, entertainment, commerce, etc.
  • Alternatives to dominant systems of power: e.g. economy, politics, gender, values, etc

Systems papers describe the design, implementation, and evaluation of computing systems that work within or help cope with limits. Also of interest are evaluations of systems that fail due to limits. Good systems contributions will address problems that meet present or future societal needs, describe clear limits and operational boundaries, and provide a detailed evaluation of the system in question. Relevant topics include, but are not limited to:

  • Material- and manufacturing-constrained computing devices
  • Energy- and material-efficient computing and communication
  • Wide-area communication under constraints
  • Human-Computer Interaction (HCI) and Interaction Design under constraints
  • Evaluation of limits to modern computing systems
  • Life-cycle analysis of computing systems under limits
  • Computer architecture for constrained computing
  • Systems for health, education, agriculture, transportation, entertainment, commerce, etc. under limits

Important Dates

Call for papers to be announced August 2019.